• A project of the Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. A project of the FKHM Nürnberg e.V.
  • About us
  • Feedback
  • Deutsche Version
Search Virtual museum
Nuremberg Art
  • Artists
  • Works of art
  • Topics
  • New
  • About us
  • Feedback

Beautiful fountain

Beautiful fountain View from the south

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

View from the south


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2008, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain State today after the restoration of 2015-2016

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

State today after the restoration of 2015-2016


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain View from the south east

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

View from the south east


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2008, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain View from the north east

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

View from the north east


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2012, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain View from the south west

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

View from the south west


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain View from the south east

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

View from the south east


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2014, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Lower part without grid

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Lower part without grid


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Basin with tracery

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Basin with tracery


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Basin with lower part of the fountain tower

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Basin with lower part of the fountain tower


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2007, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Detail, two tiers of figures at the edge of the basin

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Detail, two tiers of figures at the edge of the basin


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Figures of the lower tiers at the edge of the basin

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Figures of the lower tiers at the edge of the basin


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Edge of the basin: Pythagoras

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Edge of the basin: Pythagoras


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Edge of the basin: Nicomachus

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Edge of the basin: Nicomachus


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Upper edge of the basin: John Evangelist

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Upper edge of the basin: John Evangelist


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Octagonal basis with masks

Beautiful fountain

Info

1385 1395


Octagonal basis with masks


photo 2014, Pablo de la Riestra

"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

Beautiful fountain Mask at the octagonal basis

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Mask at the octagonal basis


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2014, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Detail: Busts at the lower octagonal tier

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Detail: Busts at the lower octagonal tier


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2015, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Main level with the Nine Good Heroes and the seven Electors

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Main level with the Nine Good Heroes and the seven Electors


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain State today, detail: Pinnacles and little flags of the Electors and the Good Heroes with recognizable heraldic figures

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

State today, detail: Pinnacles and little flags of the Electors and the Good Heroes with recognizable heraldic figures


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 11. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Main level from left to right: King of Bohemia, Count Palatine of Rhine, Margrave of Brandenburg, Duke of Saxony, Charles the Great and King Arthur

Beautiful fountain

Info

1385 1395


Main level from left to right: King of Bohemia, Count Palatine of Rhine, Margrave of Brandenburg, Duke of Saxony, Charles the Great and King Arthur


photo Feb 2015, Pablo de la Riestra

"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

Beautiful fountain Gottfried of Bouillon

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Gottfried of Bouillon


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain King of Bohemia

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

King of Bohemia


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain King of Bohemia, detail

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

King of Bohemia, detail


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Feb 2015, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Level of the prophets

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Level of the prophets


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 20. May 2012, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Level of the prophets from above

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Level of the prophets from above


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2007, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Level of the prophets with Moses in the center

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Level of the prophets with Moses in the center


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2010, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Level of the prophets with Joel in the center

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Level of the prophets with Joel in the center


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2011, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Buttresses

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Buttresses


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Dec 2012, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Wimpergs (window gables with tracery) with buttresses

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Wimpergs (window gables with tracery) with buttresses


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Oct 2010, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Casing with tracery helmet

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Casing with tracery helmet


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo Oct 2010, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Open-worked tracery helmet, detail with trefoil tracery ornaments

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Open-worked tracery helmet, detail with trefoil tracery ornaments


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2012, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Double crocket

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Double crocket


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2007, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Tube at the basin edge with Renaissance putto

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Tube at the basin edge with Renaissance putto


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2014, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Basin with gargoyles

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Basin with gargoyles


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2014, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Tube with trumpet putto

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Tube with trumpet putto


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2014, Theo Noll

Beautiful fountain Front view of the restored horn player (1587

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Front view of the restored horn player (1587


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Lateral view of the restored horn player (1587 ?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Lateral view of the restored horn player (1587 ?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Front view of the restored Cupid (1587?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Front view of the restored Cupid (1587?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016,

Beautiful fountain Profile of the restored Cupid (1587?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Profile of the restored Cupid (1587?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Diagonal view of the restored drum player (1587?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Diagonal view of the restored drum player (1587?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Lateral view of the restored drum player (1587 ?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Lateral view of the restored drum player (1587 ?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Front view of the lute player (1587?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Front view of the lute player (1587?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Profile of the lute player (1587?)

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Profile of the lute player (1587?)


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 12. Nov 2016, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Original parts of the level of the Heroes and the Electors

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Original parts of the level of the Heroes and the Electors


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Original parts of the level of the Heroes and the Electors with canopies

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Original parts of the level of the Heroes and the Electors with canopies


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Cesar

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Cesar


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Gottfried of Bouillon

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Gottfried of Bouillon


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Joshua

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Joshua


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Judas Maccabäus

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

Judas Maccabäus


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain King Arthur

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

King Arthur


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain King Arthur, lateral view

Beautiful fountain

1385 1395

King Arthur, lateral view


"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, German National Museum

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

photo 2013, Pablo de la Riestra

Beautiful fountain Berlin Bode-Museum, three prohets´heads, photo of the 1920s, Deutscher Kunstverlag

Beautiful fountain

Info

1385 1395


Berlin Bode-Museum, three prohets´heads, photo of the 1920s, Deutscher Kunstverlag


photo

"Parlier" Heinrich is said to have been in charge of the overall design. The original sculptural parts are attributed to several masters. The fountain was repaired two times at the end of the 18th century. It was removed respectively renewed 1821-24, restored in 1835 and finally completely replaced by a valuable copy by Heinrich Wallraff 1897-1902. Original parts of the fountain have been preserved in the German National Museum as have parts of the sculptures in Bodemuseum in Berlin. Whereas the fountain architecture can be considered to be originally Gothic, the statues are but an echo of the originals. The original quality of these sculptures is evident by the fragments that have been preserved, it supersedes by far the quality of the sculptures of the previous period in Nuremberg, it is of much higher quality than the one of the figures at the West portal of St. Lorenz-Church and even of the portal of Our Lady´s Church (Frauenkirche) which was created under the Parlers. Regarding architectural history the tower-shaped fountain is a sensation, it is a micro-architecture, definitely with a secular purpose, but completely designed in sacred form-language. In the following time the fountain was adopted as far away as in the Norman Rouen. Relationships with tabernacles of the Late Gothic Period are evident. Concerning the iconographic program the design of the fountain is highly ambitious. The exclusively male figures are distributed over two tiers at the edge of the basin (allegories of Philosophy, the Seven Liberal Arts, the Four Evangelists and the Four Latin Fathers of the Church), apart from that the figures are distributed over two levels of the octagonal tower. The main level displays the Nine Good Heroes, and Seven Electors, over them the Prophets. The hollow octagon ends in an casing of buttresses with an open-worked tracery helmet. The fountain was explicitly mentioned in 1517 by the Italian Antonio de Beatis, correspondent of Cardinal Luigi d´Aragona. Dr. Pablo de la Riestra

Location: Nuremberg, Hauptmarkt

Design: Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim ), Heinrich

Heinrich
Parlier (Heinrich Parlirer, Beheim, Bheiheim )

Further works

Beautiful fountain
Beautiful fountain

Menu

  • New
  • Search
  • Artists
  • Works of art
  • About us
  • Deutsche Version
  • Instagram

A project of the Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. (Association for the Promotion of the Museum of Cultural History Nuremberg - registered association)

The Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. supports the establishment of a museum of cultural history in Nuremberg. In anticipation of this it presents selected works of Nuremberg art in digital form. The Association will be happy to welcome new members. You will find a declaration of membership on our website.

Support us Feedback

Logo

© Protected under German copyright laws

  • Imprint
  • Privacy policy

Feedback

Please let us know your opinion about our website, the museum, our idea or any other evaluation. We shall be please about any comments and suggestions..