1851
"The view shows Albrecht Dürer’s grave, positioned centrally in the foreground. It is notable that the artist has omitted the yew tree standing directly behind the grave
(see: Wolff, Kummet, Rothbart: *Dürers Grab*). This opens up a clear view to the west, revealing the eastern choir and roof turret of St. Johannis Church, as well as the rectory—which, just a few years later, was relocated to Lindengasse, the site where the *Schießhaus* (shooting house) had stood until 1856. The depiction of the 'portico gallery' in front of the rectory is of particular interest; this structure has survived despite the expansion of the cemetery. The 'Small Rectory Garden' was likely situated behind it, though this was also dismantled after 1850.
The print was published as early as 1826 and subsequently reissued several times."
Dr. Silke Colditz-Heusl
Quoted from:
*Der Johannisfriedhof in historischen Ansichten* [St. Johannis Cemetery in Historical Views],
*500 Jahre Friedhof St. Johannis* [500 Years of St. Johannis Cemetery],
Exhibition catalogue,
Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. [Association of Friends of the Nuremberg Museum of Cultural History],
2018, pp. 104–105
Location: private
Design: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Realization: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Depicted: Dürer, Rezeption
photo 2014, Theo Noll
1851
"The view shows Albrecht Dürer’s grave, positioned centrally in the foreground. It is notable that the artist has omitted the yew tree standing directly behind the grave
(see: Wolff, Kummet, Rothbart: *Dürers Grab*). This opens up a clear view to the west, revealing the eastern choir and roof turret of St. Johannis Church, as well as the rectory—which, just a few years later, was relocated to Lindengasse, the site where the *Schießhaus* (shooting house) had stood until 1856. The depiction of the 'portico gallery' in front of the rectory is of particular interest; this structure has survived despite the expansion of the cemetery. The 'Small Rectory Garden' was likely situated behind it, though this was also dismantled after 1850.
The print was published as early as 1826 and subsequently reissued several times."
Dr. Silke Colditz-Heusl
Quoted from:
*Der Johannisfriedhof in historischen Ansichten* [St. Johannis Cemetery in Historical Views],
*500 Jahre Friedhof St. Johannis* [500 Years of St. Johannis Cemetery],
Exhibition catalogue,
Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. [Association of Friends of the Nuremberg Museum of Cultural History],
2018, pp. 104–105
Location: private
Design: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Realization: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Depicted: Dürer, Rezeption
photo 2014, Theo Noll
1851
Detail view
"The view shows Albrecht Dürer’s grave, positioned centrally in the foreground. It is notable that the artist has omitted the yew tree standing directly behind the grave
(see: Wolff, Kummet, Rothbart: *Dürers Grab*). This opens up a clear view to the west, revealing the eastern choir and roof turret of St. Johannis Church, as well as the rectory—which, just a few years later, was relocated to Lindengasse, the site where the *Schießhaus* (shooting house) had stood until 1856. The depiction of the 'portico gallery' in front of the rectory is of particular interest; this structure has survived despite the expansion of the cemetery. The 'Small Rectory Garden' was likely situated behind it, though this was also dismantled after 1850.
The print was published as early as 1826 and subsequently reissued several times."
Dr. Silke Colditz-Heusl
Quoted from:
*Der Johannisfriedhof in historischen Ansichten* [St. Johannis Cemetery in Historical Views],
*500 Jahre Friedhof St. Johannis* [500 Years of St. Johannis Cemetery],
Exhibition catalogue,
Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. [Association of Friends of the Nuremberg Museum of Cultural History],
2018, pp. 104–105
Location: private
Design: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Realization: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Depicted: Dürer, Rezeption
photo 2014, Theo Noll
1851
Detail view, artist’s signature, and title
"The view shows Albrecht Dürer’s grave, positioned centrally in the foreground. It is notable that the artist has omitted the yew tree standing directly behind the grave
(see: Wolff, Kummet, Rothbart: *Dürers Grab*). This opens up a clear view to the west, revealing the eastern choir and roof turret of St. Johannis Church, as well as the rectory—which, just a few years later, was relocated to Lindengasse, the site where the *Schießhaus* (shooting house) had stood until 1856. The depiction of the 'portico gallery' in front of the rectory is of particular interest; this structure has survived despite the expansion of the cemetery. The 'Small Rectory Garden' was likely situated behind it, though this was also dismantled after 1850.
The print was published as early as 1826 and subsequently reissued several times."
Dr. Silke Colditz-Heusl
Quoted from:
*Der Johannisfriedhof in historischen Ansichten* [St. Johannis Cemetery in Historical Views],
*500 Jahre Friedhof St. Johannis* [500 Years of St. Johannis Cemetery],
Exhibition catalogue,
Förderverein Kulturhistorisches Museum Nürnberg e.V. [Association of Friends of the Nuremberg Museum of Cultural History],
2018, pp. 104–105
Location: private
Design: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Realization: Wagner, Wolfgang Adam Friedrich
Depicted: Dürer, Rezeption
photo 2014, Theo Noll
Please let us know your opinion about our website, the museum, our idea or any other evaluation. We shall be please about any comments and suggestions..